Mantra

My children are a reflection of me.

Your children are a reflection of you and all your failures.

No. My children are the reflection of the person that I want to be.

That you wanted to be?

That I should be. In their faces I see the same hopes, the same dreams.

Do you see the same crippling fear?

They are going to be strong. They’re going to be as good as I am, or better.

That shouldn’t be hard.

I shall take great pride in them, as I take pride in myself.

Take pride in shackling them.

They shall be free of the constraints that I had in my youth.

And those constraints shall be replaced by endless pressure.

They’ll get to be young. The way I never was.

They’ll never grow up.

My children will be a reflection of me.

They will be me.

They have to be.

Leave a Reply

